Organization History

Established in 1970, the National Black MBA Association is dedicated to creating partnerships that result in creating intellectual and economic wealth in the black community.

In partnership with over 400 of the country’s top business organizations, the association has inroads into a wide range of industries as well as the public and private sector. Yet all of NBMBAA’s partners have one thing in common – they are all committed to the organization’s goals and values.

The National Black MBA Association has more than 6,000 members and represents more than 95,000 MBA graduates and operates around three cornerstones:

  • Education
  • Employment
  • Leadership

The organization gains its strength from a strong belief in community and a commitment to its development through economic and educational development initiatives that support the global African American community.

New Jersey Chapter History

The NBMBAA – New Jersey Chapter (“NJ Chapter”), formed in 1983 and incorporated in the state of New Jersey in 1989, has over 350 members with professional experience acquired from both public and private sector organizations. Members are actively engaged in a variety of fields including marketing, finance, accounting, human resources, information technology, telecommunications, general management, in the for-profit and non-profit arena, as well as involved in entrepreneurial endeavors. Members are encouraged to share their expertise by participating in various chapter activities which focus on three themes: career and professional development, cultivating partnerships with local businesses, and community service, with a special emphasis placed on the intellectual development of our youth.


1983 – 1984 Charles Jennings

1985 – 1987 Evans Spagner

1988 – 1989 Gloria Curry-Williams

1990 – 1991 Donna Johns

1992 – 1992 Carnell Simpkins

1993 – 1993 Valerie Edmonds

1993 – 1993 Pamela Williams

1994 – 1995 Jennifer Johnson

1996 – 2000 Sheila Daniels

2001 – 2002 Raphael Sebastian

2003 – 2005 Sheila Daniels

2006 – 2010 Kevin McMillian

2011 – 2012 Kathy Valentine

2013 – 2018 Michael Fleming

2019 – Sonya Ruffin